Reckless Driving in Virginia is a criminal misdemeanor offense. The punishment for a Reckless Driving conviction can be harsh. If you have been ticketed or arrested for Reckless Driving in Virginia, then you need an attorney that is experienced in defending reckless driving offenses.
In fact, a motorist can be convicted of Reckless Driving for speeding as little as 11 miles per hour over the limit if the speed is over 80 miles per hour in a 70 mile per hour zone. A conviction for Reckless Driving can jeopardize your freedom, your job, and your driving record. Additionally, a conviction may cause a substantial increase in your insurance premiums or could cause you to be dropped by your insurance carrier.
Reckless Driving in the Commonwealth of Virginia is classified as a Class One Misdemeanor and is punishable by up to 12 months in jail and a $2500.00 maximum fine, as well as a license suspension.